Advocacy Committee

Responsible for tracking legislative and regulatory activities that relate to the obesity field, setting priorities based on the strategic plan and determining the best approach for addressing the issues, with guidance and approval from Council.


Emily Dhurandhar, PhD (Chair)

University of Alabama at Birmingham, Birmingham, AL

Richard Atkinson, MD

Virginia Commonwealth University, Richmond, VA

W. Scott Butsch, MD

Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston, MA

Stephen Cook, MD, MPH

University of Rochester Medical Center, Rochester, NY

Arthur Frank, MD, FTOS

National Center For Weight/Wellness, Washington, DC

Debbie Horn, DO, MPH

University of Texas Science Center, Houston, TX

Gladys Horn, PhD

Weill Cornell Medical College, New York, NY

Judith Stern, ScD, FTOS

University of California, Davis, CA

Peter Vash, MD

The Vash Center, Los Angeles, CA

Cheryl H. Vaughan, PhD

Georgia State University, Atlanta, GA

Denise E. Wilfley, PhD

Washington University of St. Louis, St. Louis, MO

Bruce Wolfe, MD

Oregon Health and Science University, Portland, Oregon

Phillip J. Brantley, PhD (Council Liaison)

Pennington Biomedical Research Center, Baton Rouge, LA

Amanda Berhaupt, PhD Candidate (Early-Career Representative)

Rutgers University, Astoria, NY


(Please note: External Links are provided as a courtesy. The Obesity Society is not responsible for the content on sites accessed through external links.)

clinician directory


obesity links

OW web logo