Diversity Committee

Responsible for developing and implementing policy to ensure representation of individuals of diverse backgrounds (including but not limited to: race, sex, ethnicity, sexual orientation and gender identity) at all levels of the Society-from Council to representation at the annual meeting.


Jimmy Efird, PhD (Chair)

Brody School of Medicine, Greenville, NC

Barbara G Carranza Leon, MD, FTOS

Mayo Clinic, Rochester, MN

Lara Dugas, PhD

Loyola University Chicago, Maywood, IL

Lori Francis, PhD, FTOS

Penn State University, University Park, PA

Jung Han Kim, PhD

Marshall University School Of Medicine, Huntington, WV

Ike S Okosun, PhD, FTOS

Georgia State University, Atlanta, GA

Zhiping Yu, PhD

Weight Watchers, New York, NY

Michelle Cardel, PhD (Early-Career Representative)

University of Colorado, Denver, CO

Mary Ellen Harper, PhD, FTOS (Council Liaison)

University of Ottawa, Ottawa, ON

(Please note: External Links are provided as a courtesy. The Obesity Society is not responsible for the content on sites accessed through external links.)

clinician directory


obesity links


300x250 websitebanner