July 2013 - Letter from the Executive Director

Dear Colleagues,

I’m pleased to announce the esteemed recipients of The Obesity Society’s 2013 Named Awards. We created this program more than a decade ago to promote, reward, and encourage research in the field of obesity, with the end goal of helping to improve the lives of those affected. Each award recognizes the honoree for their scientific achievements and major contributions to the basic science, treatment and prevention of obesity.

Congratulations to the following recipients:

Corby K. Martin, PhD - 2013 Lilly Scientific Achievement Award

This award, made possible through an annual grant from the Eli Lilly Pharmaceutical Company, recognizes Dr. Martin for excellence in an established research career.

Donna H. Ryan, MD  - 2013 George A. Bray Founders Award

This award recognizes Dr. Ryan for her significant contributions to advance the scientific and clinical basis for understanding and treating obesity, and for extensive involvement with the Society.

Karen A. Donato, SM - 2013 Atkinson-Stern Award for Distinguished Public Service

This award, made possible by a gift from Thomas A. Wadden, recognizes Ms. Donato for her significant work to improve the lives of those affected by obesity through public policy.

Stephen O’Rahilly, MD, FRS, FMedSci - 2013 TOPS Research Achievement Award

This award, made possible through an annual grant from the Take Off Pounds Sensibly Foundation (TOPS), recognizes Dr. O’Rahilly for a singular achievement and contribution to research in the field of obesity.

Steven N. Blair, PED - 2013 Mickey Stunkard Lifetime Achievement Award

This award recognizes Dr. Blair who, like Albert (Mickey) Stunkard, has made a lifetime of outstanding contributions to the field of obesity through scholarship, mentorship, and education.

I hope you will take a moment to learn more about the recipients here and join us in congratulating them for their contributions to the field. We look forward to presenting these prestigious awards at ObesityWeekSM, Nov. 11-16, in Atlanta, GA.


Francesca Dea

TOS Executive Director

(Please note: External Links are provided as a courtesy. The Obesity Society is not responsible for the content on sites accessed through external links.)

clinician directory


obesity links


300x250 websitebanner