Responsible for tracking legislative and regulatory activities that relate to the obesity field, setting priorities based on the strategic plan and determining the best approach for addressing the issues, with guidance and approval from Council.

W. Scott Butsch, MD, FTOS (Chair)

Massachusetts General Hospital

Fatima Cody Stanford, MD, FTOS (Co-Chair)

Massachusetts General Hospital

Emily Dhurandhar, PhD

University of Alabama at Birmingham

Jimmy T. Efird, PhD

Brody School of Medicine

Tapan Mehta, PhD

University of Alabama, Birmingham

Magdalena Pasarica, MD

University of Central Florida School of Medicine

Sunil Daniel, MD, ABOM


Leah D. Whigham, PhD, FTOS

Paso Del Norte Institute For Healthy Living

Alethea Hill, NP

University of South Alabama

Christina D Economos, PhD

Tufts University

Katherine N. Balantekin, PhD, RD (Early-Career Representative)

Pennsylvania State University

Richard Atkinson, MD, FTOS (Honorary Member)

Virginia Obesity Research Institute

Judith Stern, ScD, FTOS (Honorary Member)

University of California, Davis

Diana Thomas, PhD (Council Liaison)

Montclair State University

Director of Communications, Marketing & Membership (Staff Liaison)

The Obesity Society