Diversity Committee


Responsible for developing and implementing policy to ensure representation of individuals of diverse backgrounds (including but not limited to: race, sex, ethnicity, sexual orientation and gender identity) at all levels of the Society-from Council to representation at the annual meeting.


Michelle Cardel, PhD (Chair)

University of Florida

Shu Wen Ng, PhD (Co-Chair)

University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Susanne B. Votruba, PhD

National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive Kidney Diseases (NIDDK)

Neil Iyengar, MD

Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center

Susanne Votruba, PhD

National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases - NIH

Holly Nicastro, PhD

National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute

Susan Raatz, PhD, MPH, RD, FTOS

U.S. Department of Agriculture

Paul Sacher, PhD


Timothy L. Barnes, PhD, MPH (Early-Career Representative)

University of Minnesota

Margarita Teran-Garcia, MD, PhD, FTOS (Council Liaison)

University of Illnois Urbana-Champaign

Shameeka Green (Staff Liaison)

The Obesity Society