Scientific Review

Scientific Review

Responsible for reviewing and scoring the scientific content of grant applications related to the study of obesity for the Society's grants program


Penny Gordon-Larsen, PhD, FTOS (Immediate Past President, Chair)

University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill

Regina Williams (Staff Liaison)

The Obesity Society


Population Studies

Janne Boone-Heinonen, PhD, FTOS

Oregon Health & Science University

Michael Goran, PhD, FTOS

University of Southern California

Alison Field, ScD

Brown University School of Public Health

Ellen Demerath, PhD, FTOS

University of Minnesota

Molly Bray, PhD

University of Pennsylvania

Jennifer Orlet Fisher, PhD

Temple University

Clinical Studies

Deborah Tate, PhD

University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Denise E. Wilfley, PhD

Washington University, School of Medicine

Magdalena Pasarica, MD

University of Central Florida, College of Medicine

Scott Butsch, MD

Harvard Medical School/Massachusetts General Hospital

Caroline Apovian, MD, FTOS

Boston University, School of Medicine

William Yancy, MD, FTOS

Duke University Diet and Fitness Center


Cell and Molecular

Kevin Hall, MD

National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK)

John R. Speakman, PhD, FTOS

University of Aberdeen

Vijay Hedge, PhD

Texas Tech University

Douglas Mashek, PhD

University of Minnesota

Albert A. Francendese, PhD


Charles Burant, PhD

University of Michigan


Integrated Biology

Carey Lumeng, MD, FTOS

University of Michigan

Andre Tchernof, PhD

Laval University Medical Center

Adrian Vella, MD

Mayo Clinic

Matthew Hayes, PhD

Brody School of Medicine at East Carolina University

Ania M. Jastreboff, MD, PhD

Yale University

Wolfgang Langhans, MD

Eth Zurich