Thomas A. Wadden Award for Distinguished Mentorship

Barry M. Popkin, PhD, FTOS
Professor, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Created in 2015, the award honors a TOS member for distinguished mentorship of the Society’s early career investigators. The award is named for Professor Thomas A. Wadden, PhD, who mentored many individuals who went on to pursue successful careers in obesity research and clinical care.

TOPS Research Achievement Award

John Speakman, PhD, DSc, FTOS
Professor, University of Aberdeen

The TOPS Research Achievement Award is for singular achievement or contribution to research in the field of obesity and made possible through an annual grant from the Take Off Pounds Sensibly (TOPS) Foundation.

American Board of Obesity Medicine

Caroline Apovian, MD, FACP, FTOS, DABOM

Professor of Medicine and Pediatrics
Boston University

The Master award recognizes physicians that have made significant contributions to the science, practice, and/or advancement of obesity medicine.

Friends of Albert (Mickey) Stunkard
Lifetime Achievement Award

Rena Wing, PhD, FTOS
Professor, Brown University
Director, Weight Control & Diabetes Research Center at The Miriam Hospital

The Friends of Albert (Mickey) Stunkard Lifetime Achievement Award is designed to recognize an individual who has made a commitment to the field of obesity in terms of scholarship, mentorship, and education.

Atkinson Stern Award for Distinguished Public Service

Susan Yanovski, MD, FTOS
Senior Scientific Advisor for Clinical Obesity Research
Co-director, Office of Obesity Research
Executive Director Clinical Obesity Research Panel
Director, Obesity and Eating Disorders Program
National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases

This award was established by a donation from Dr. Thomas A. Wadden to recognize an individual or organization whose work has improved the lives of those affected by obesity, whether through research, public policy, or patient care.

The George A. Bray Founders Award

Penny Gordon-Larsen, PhD, FTOS
Professor, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

The George A. Bray Founders Award recognizes an individual for significant contributions that advance the scientific or clinical basis for understanding or treating obesity and for extensive involvement with The Obesity Society.

The George A. Bray Master’s Thesis Award 2020 Recipient

Katherine McNitt, MS
Pennsylvania State University

The award recognizes one student for their master’s thesis. The thesis is evaluated by the overall relevance and potential impact on the field of obesity with an emphasis on scientific methodology and approach.

The George A. Bray Doctoral Dissertation Award 2020 Recipient

Katherine Arlinghaus, PhD
University of Houston

The award recognizes one student for their doctoral dissertation, which is judged on the significance, scope, innovation, and scientific methodology in the field of obesity.

Sandrine Chometton

Amanda Crandall

Ethan Sims Young Investigator Award

Sandrine Chometton, PhD – RECIPIENT
Research Title:  “A Role for Glucokinase in the Arcuate Nucleus in Glucose  Appetition”

Amanda Crandall, MS  – RECIPIENT
Research Title:  “The Effect of Financial Scarcity on the Relative Reinforcing Value of Food and Delay Discounting”

Jacqueline Hayes, PhD 
Research Title:  “Behavioral Obesity Treatment Outcomes in Children with Severe Obesity:  Metrics Determine Conclusions”

Leah Lessard, PhD 
Research Title:  “Weight Enumeration in State Anti-Bullying Laws and Risks of Weight-Based Bullying Among LGBTQ Youth”

Kripa Shankar, PhD
Research Title:  “Obesity-Associated Plasma Ghrelin Reduction Is Mediated by Ghrelin Cell-Expressed Insulin Receptors”

The Ethan Sims Young Investigator Award was established in honor of Ethan Sims, an early pioneer in obesity research, and recognizes excellence in research by young investigators. 

Five semifinalists are selected based on their submitted abstracts and are invited to make a presentation during ObesityWeek®. The recipient is then selected based on their oral presentations at ObesityWeek®.

TOS Clinician of the Year Award

Fatima Cody Stanford, MD, MPH, MPA, FTOS
Assistant Professor, Harvard University

The award was founded in 2015 by the Clinical Management of Obesity Section of The Obesity Society. The Clinician of the Year Award signifies excellence in the practice of obesity medicine and distinguishes a physician as having achieved a high level of competency and understanding in obesity care.

The Oded Bar-Or Award

Angelo Pietrobelli, MD
Professor, University of Verona

The Oded Bar-Or Award was established in 2007 to honor Oded Bar-Or, a pioneer in children’s health, by the Pediatric Obesity Section of TOS.  This award recognizes an individual who has made significant contributions to basic and applied pediatric obesity research that have resulted in major advances in the scientific understanding of etiology, prevention, and treatment of pediatric obesity.